Just another WordPress.com site

  1. Title: The Ask and the Answer

Author: Patrick Ness

Publisher: Walker Childrens Hardbacks

Published: May 4, 2009

Number of Pages: 519

From: Johnson County Library

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

POSSIBLE SPOILERS

Isn’t much I can say about this except it wasn’t has good as “The Knife of Never Letting Go”; there just wasn’t the driving force behind the characters like with the first one. I had to really force myself to read this and in the end was left a little unsatisfied. The rating of four stars is being rather generous to be quite frank but I gave it such because it did continue on the tale in a manner congruent to the first story.


2 and 3) Title: Syren (Septimus Heap #5)/ Darke (Septimus Heap #6)

Author: Angie Sage

Publisher: HarperCollins

Published: 2009/ 2011

Number of Pages: 628/641

From: Audible

Rating: 4/5 – 4/5

POSSIBLE SPOILERS

I am writing the review for Syren and Darke together because they are part of the Septimus Heap series. I have enjoyed every bit of the journey following Septimus, Jenna, Beetle and the rest of the gang on their adventures throughout the first four books and these two did not disappoint. Sage once again masterfully takes us from character to character while telling the story. Syren finds us stranded on an island and we go through many of an adventure to reach the end and the truth. Darke takes place during the time Septimus is to do his Darke Magic training and many misadventures happen to our characters. This includes a journey to retrieve Alter who has been accidently banished from the castle. Darke was good but seemed a little plodding in points.

It is rumored that this series is to be a seven book one which would make sense since seven is such an important part Sage’s world. I am looking forward to see how she wraps it all up. Wonder when the release date is?

4) Title: Throne of Fire (Kane Chronicles #2)

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Hyperion Books for Children

Published: 2011

Number of Pages: 452

From: Johnson County Library

Rating: 3/5

POSSIBLE SPOILERS

I really like these books but they just don’t hold up quite as well in my opinion to the ones based on Greek and Roman mythology. Riordan of course masterfully makes you believe that such could still exist in this world but for some reason I am having a harder time accepted the concept of Egyptian mythology co-existing for some reason. The journey he takes us on is nothing short of fast ride with something always around the corner. Looking forward to the third book of this series because no matter what I just can’t seem to get enough of Rick Riordan.

5) Title: Consigned to Death (Antiques Mystery #1)

Author: Jane Cleland

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Published: 2006

Number of Pages: 288

From: Johnson County Library

Rating: 4/5

POSSIBLE SPOILERS

Cleland knows her stuff about antiques it certainly seems. I like the characters and the mystery kept me guessing. The only thing I can say that will help Cleland write better is not to be so heavy handed and in your face with her red herrings. When I do my quick review of Deadly Appraisal, I will go into this a little better. Overall I really enjoyed it, enough so to want to continue on and follow the stories throughout the rest of the series.

6) Title: Hula Done it? (Passport to Peril #4)

Author: Maddy Hunter

Publisher: Pocket

Published: 2005

Number of Pages: 336

From: Johnson County Library

Rating: 4/5

POSSIBLE SPOILERS

I needed a mystery book that took place in Hawaii for this 50+1 challenge I am doing and so in walked this one. It wasn’t a bad book but it wasn’t that great either. That being said I was taken completely out of left field when I discovered what the truth behind the mystery was. I am sure it was planted somewhere in the back of my mind but so did not see it coming. This is unusual for me when it comes to cozy novels like these; I normally have it figured out from the very beginning. Hunter’s writing did capture my attention enough to want to explore some of the other novels in this series.

7) Title: Long Quiche Goodbye (Cheese Shop Mystery #1)

Author: Avery Aames

Publisher: Berkley Prime Crime

Published: 2010

Number of Pages: 309

From: Johnson County Library

Rating: 3/5

POSSIBLE SPOILERS

If ever a book out there is going to make you crave cheese than this is it. The mystery was second rate and not atypical for a novel of this sort. Aame’s world of the cheese shop seemed like I could walk right in and call it my home. I will definitely want to be spending more time here when I am looking for something to make me hungry.

8) Title: Explosive Eighteen

Author: Janet Evanovich

Publisher: Random House

Published: 2011

Number of Pages: 341

From: Johnson County Library

Rating: 4/5

POSSIBLE SPOILERS

I seem to be in this series for the long haul, no matter how outrages it gets. I will admit that Explosive Eighteen was a far cry better than Finger Lickin’ Fifteen or Sizzling Seventeen (I have seemed to completely skip over Sixteen) at least this plot made sense or at least didn’t make me cringe as much as the others. The ended did seem rather rushed and convoluted and I am not entirely sure if I understand how it all worked out. I am now curious how much farther Evanovich plans to take this series, I hope that she takes it to twenty and leaves it at that.

 9) Title: Deadly Appraisal (Antique Shop Mystery #2)

Author: Jane Cleland

Publisher: St. Martin’s Minotaur

Published: 2007

Number of Pages: 307

From: Johnson County Library

Rating: 3/5

POSSIBLE SPOILERS

My joy to want to spend time in Cleland’s Antiques world certainly diminished with reading number two in the series. The whole plot was messy and I still don’t understand the motive. Like with the first one the red herrings were messy and heavy handed. The whole, I think it may be someone I hired – how can it be- which was featured in both the first and the second one was just cheesy. I will eventually pick up number three and give it a go. But if the third is as messy and red herring riddled I will be saying good riddance to this series.

10) Title: Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Author: Jonathan Foer

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Published: 2006

Number of Pages: 326

From: Johnson County Library

Rating: 4/5

POSSIBLE SPOILERS

I rarely see a book turned to movie without reading the book first and I knew this wasn’t going to be an exception. I wanted more from this book and the ended was ever so anticlimactic but that doesn’t stop me from summing it up as “rip my heart out, throw it on the floor, stomp on it into a thousand pieces , try to put the pieces back together, return it to my body – lather, rinse, repeat.” I am looking forward to getting the DVD from the library. I hope the movie does it justice but because of the visual nature that was the book I think it would greatly approve on the story and detract from it.


Leave a Reply

