Just another WordPress.com site

Not my image

Book: The Hanging Wood (A Lake District Mystery #5)

Author: Martin Edwards

Publisher: Poisened Pen Press

Published:  April 5th, 2011

Source: Advanced Readers Galley through Netgalley.com

Star Rating: 3 out of 5

I enjoyed this book but then again I didn’t. Edwards did keep me on my toes to figure out who did it and why but sometimes too many misdirections can get on your nerves. I know all the right hints were there but I think I would have rated at least four stars if the outcome was different. I just felt like I had it all tied up than a curve ball would get thrown and then the end although I had a small little inkling lurking in my head that it was him but it just sort of came out of left field. I got misdirected more than was probably necessary and I ended up just baffled and confused near the end of it.

It really wasn’t a bad book, I just didn’t find myself really rooting for a character or anything like that. Mostly I was just counting down the pages until the end so I can finally find out who did it and say good riddance to the book.

That being said, it is worth a gander if you want something that will just sort of confuse you and the scenery and the detective was well fleshed out but this is probably not something I would suggest to my mom or my aunt-in-law just because it was just so convolved.

Leave a Reply

