Just another WordPress.com site

Cover Imagine belongs to all respective artists

Book: The Lightkeeper’s Ball (A Mercy Falls Novel)

Author: Colleen Coble

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

Published: April 19th, 2011

Source: Received for review through booksneeze.com (all opinions 100% mine)

Star Rating: 4 out of 5

 

(POSSIBLE SPOILERS)

This book ended up surprising me, when I first opened it up read the first few chapters I just couldn’t see myself reaching the end. I didn’t care for the characters, or the plot or really anything for that matter. Then it happened, the author tickled my mystery bone and I was ready to solve the puzzle along with Olivia.

Coble created a beautiful world in Mercy Falls and although this was my first time visiting I quickly enjoyed calling it my virtual home. Her use of history, mystery and a squeaking clean romance crafted a book that although started off slowly quickly sparked and led me on a guessing game where I never got a foothold on the truth. As soon as I thought I had it all figured out, Coble let out a fact or introduced me to another character that changed my mind. She had me guessing until the very end.

Coble’s characters could have fit in modern times as well as the times in the book. This being said you were never not reminded how different it was in the interaction between women and men. If you take the scene where Olivia and Harrison are lost in the woods and the first thought they both have is that they will have to get married to protect her name. If that happens today, it might be a consideration but it wouldn’t be the rule.

This was the third in the Mercy Falls series and I am looking forward to reading the first two and any others that become written.

 

 

Comments on: "~Review~ The Lightkeeper’s Ball by Colleen Coble" (1)

  1. I loved this book. It’s romantic suspense that even my teenager enjoyed–the romance is simple and sweet, definitely very clean but that’s what’s appealing about it. Coble does a masterful job of setting scenes that feel true to the period of history she’s writing about, artfully weaving in historic details ranging from events like the approach of Halley’s Comet to the clothing, architecture and interior decoration of the time.

Leave a Reply

