Just another WordPress.com site

I decided to read this book in honor of the start of the 2011 Iditarod which started on the 5th of March. It was great to follow Libby as she made her way through the 1000+ mile journey. There were times that even though I knew she was to take 1st place, hope almost seemed bleak. Her descriptions of cold, blowing snow put the chill in me. It was especially interesting to learn about her dogs. My heart broke when she had to live Sister behind. It reminded me of when Mackey had to leave one of his lead dogs in 2008. No musher wants to finish the Trail without their full team.

A note on the Kindle addition is that there was quite a lot of disjointed editing. Random information, although greatly informative was thrown what felt rather haphazardly here and there. I can only assume that in the print version they were more than likely footnotes but when the book was translated into an ebook they were just thrown in. I have not seen a print version of the book to know for sure, but I am certain that was the problem.

I think this book is for any one who has an interest in the Iditarod, history of the Iditarod, Alaskan history, Alaska and strong women role models.

Libby makes a good one, even if she is rather humble about it. In “Race Across Alaska” she says “I had never thought much about being the first woman to win the race. I thought of myself as just a sled dog racer, not a woman sled dog racer. But there was no denying that if my winning encouraged other women not to underestimate themselves, then I was happy to have helped” (223). Just reading those words made me realize how far yet how far we still need to go.

Want more information on Libby Riddles, check out this youtube video of the news report of her 1985 win that this book is based on

Related books I’ve Read:
Fiction: “Murder on the Iditarod Trail” – Sue Henry

Other Related Books:
“One Mush: Jamaica’s Dogsled Team”
“The Lance Mackey Story”
” No End in Sight: My Life as a Blind Iditarod Racer” – Rachael Scdoris

Comments on: "~Review~ Race Across Alaska: First Woman To Win The Iditarod Tells Her Story" (1)

  1. […] ~REVIEW~ RACE ACROSS ALASKA: FIRST WOMAN TO WIN THE IDITAROD TELLS HER STORY […]

Leave a Reply

